Toro 223D with Mitsubishi L3E engine

Hdonly

I have a Toro 223D Groundsmaster mower with a three cylinder Mitsubishi L3E engine. I have had it for a few years. It has gotten harder and harder to start over the years. Long cranking time now with excessive black smoke the longer it cranks. If it does start (rarely nowadays) the smoke will clear up after a while and it will run good. I re-torqued the head and set the valve clearance. I also put new fuel injector nozzles in. Seemed to help a little, but not much. I ordered a diesel compression gauge set to check compression 9not here yet). It runs so good if it does start that I feel like the compression is good. I am beginning to suspect the injector pump itself. About 2600hours on the clock. Any thoughts?

I've seen those engines go 5,000 hours without much additional work other than routine maintenance.
Which includes the head bolt and valve adjustment.

Have you verified your glow plugs are working correctly?

Search glow plugs for Mitsubishi L3E

I'm not sure which forum I posted that information on.

I posted a few different alternatives. I believe the Toro glow plugs I received were Champion CH10. But verify that.

Whatever glow plugs you get, call tech support and verify the glow plugs are self regulating / limiting.

Without removing the glow plugs, you can do a quick continuity test, with the glow plugs disconnected.
With one test lead on the nut and the other to ground.

You should have something like .04 ohms max. If you have a buzzer it'll be going off.

The proper way to test the glow plugs is to remove them and visually test them as described in the service manual.

I believe these are 20 second glow plugs. You hold the switch for up to 20 seconds.

Currently the glow plug controller on my 223D isn't working. It's located towards the front of the Injection Pump on the right side. I have power to the controller, but not to the glow plugs.

Is your lift pump working?