Painting Basic Questions

Greg Reed

While it's cold outside in the Midwest, and I'm just in planning stages .... I need some advice on paint! I tried to research as much as I can already, but still unsure of a few things. I get that there are two basic types of paint:

Alkyd Enamel - the basic "tractor paint" in TSC, etc. Cheapest solution.
Acrylic Enamel, with or without hardener - more expensive, better finish

I'll be painting a Ford 850. It's used on a regular basis, I'm not looking for show quality. However, I plan to spend a lot of time on prep work, and only want to repaint once. The tractor is kept indoors (when not in use of course!)

My questions:

1. Overall recommendation?
2. If I skip the hardener with the acrylic enamel (to avoid the nasty isocy... chemicals), how then does it compare to the alkyd enamel?
3. Is one more forgiving than the other for spraying? I've painted before, but I'm not an expert
4. Which brands are most recommended, and where to buy?
5. Bugs are just a factor of life in Michigan. Which option will give shortest time to not having a panel of embedded dead mosquitos?

Thanks!

I did my Fordson with Tallmans Ag specialitys (also sold here at YT ,not pushing YT ) . Talking to them ( Tallmans) they offered advice . Talked to Dick Van Sickle there in emails .
I sprayed sheet metal with hvlp gun. Reduced per their recommendation. And brushed the cast iron thin to their recommendation. I did not use a hardener , was in no hurry for the paint to dry ,
If get another paint job that is really important to me for quality fit and finish , they are the only paint I will use .

Tallmans is made by Van Sickle and both have been good for me. I encourage you to use hardener on your sheet metal to give it more durability. Painting outside is doable, one just needs to watch the weather and time when the insects are at a minimum.