CDL revisited

Straw Boss

I read all the posts about 4 pages back on the medical card requirements.
I'm in South Dakota and have a CDL class A license - combination vehicle greater than 26,000 LB GVWR with trailer greater than 10,000 LB GVWR. Includes car/light truck/moped
Endorsements: T-Doubles/Triples, N-Tank

This has always been good enough for driving our fuel truck around the country side (a retired Standard Oil route truck-single axle).
Also good enough for driving semis all over the state pulling pup trailers behind the lead trailers as long as total trailer length is under 81 1/2 feet long.

A farm is considered a commercial enterprise and requires the same rules as an over the road driver in theory. Meaning medical card, log books, and maybe a few other things I don't know about, but as a farmer I am exempt from those AS LONG AS I DO NOT....A: travel more than 100 miles from my base of operation and....B: do not cross state lines.

So never in my life driving a semi to haul my grain to town have I had to have a medical card or keep a log book.

I once crossed into Minnesota to pick up my own bean seed direct from the seed company and got stopped on the return trip. He let me go as it was my truck, my seed, for my farm, but didn't like I crossed the state line. I was back on the South Dakota side when stopped and I don't think he could do much about it as I was back in state.
I also had my insurance, registration and DOT inspection up to date and all in my name. (No company name or corp. or LLC)

Anyhow, back to the new laws.

The way I read it, I check the box for Excepted intrastate: Operate inside South Dakota only and does not have a school bus endorsement. Or in other words: Intrastate, but operating exclusively in transportation or operations excepted from all or part of the State driver qualification requirements. Only the affidavit must be submitted. (No medical certificate)