Allis Chalmers B carburetor question

ENC-AC

New User
Hello all,

I'm new to Allis Chalmers and recently inherited a 1948 Allis Chalmers B and working to restore it. The tractor has a Marvel Schebler TSX154 carburetor on it that I've rebuilt using the complete rebuild kit from Steiner.

My question is how should I adjust the throttle plate? I don't know if I have it adjusted correctly and I'm having an issue where the tractor will only run if I have the choke on about half way.

Any guidance anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Most of the time if you have to have it choked to run that means a passageway in the carb is still clogged up a bit. When you rebuilt the carb did you use a piece of wire or as I do a torch tip cleaner tool to poke out all the passageways

It's a good idea to center to center the throttle plate, but that likely won't solve the problem you are having.

Centering the plate affects idle and just off idle/transfer circuits the most.

Back off the idle speed screw, then loosen the throttle plate screws and move the throttle plate so it fits centered in the bore and look through the bore at light to verify that it fits against the bore all the way around, then tighten the screws (possibly using a little Loctite) and then screw in the idle speed screw enough so that the throttle plate doesn't bind, then make the final idle speed setting with the engine running.

(quoted from post at 10:54:34 12/07/23)
It's a good idea to center to center the throttle plate, but that likely won't solve the problem you are having.

Centering the plate affects idle and just off idle/transfer circuits the most.