8N 1950 lift arms not high enough

gearle

New User
I'm new to the tractor world but somewhat mechanically inclined. got my 8N in very good condition two months ago. the lift arms go all the way down but only rise about 16". it will lift a 5' disk but not enough to get it completely off the ground because it tops out at the same place with or without weight. when i remove the top bolt on the lever guide and move the control past the stop they will rise to just short of the fenders where it looks like they should be (from viewing other 8n's on videos.) is there a chance i'm about make things much worse or is this acceptable, and is there a fix to get the controls back to working the way they were intended to from the factory thanks for any help. i enjoy reading about all of your advice on different topics

On my NAA, I use that stop bolt to set how far the arms go down, as in Mower height and so forth.
On the NAA, which I think is the same as the NAA hydraulic wise, the system won't lift the arms too high, so I think you are okay.

On the 8N, when the lift arms are at rest (all the way down) they should measure about 8 1/2" from the ground. At their highest lift point they should measure 34 1/2" from the ground. I'm talking about measuring from the ground to the balls in the end of the lift arms.

I would remove the right side round dip stick cover and see if you can see any fluid coming down from the top cover cylinder. It sounds like you have a bad leak there. I replaced my piston with the NAA piston. Of maybe I replaced the cylinder and the piston. I did it many years ago.

It is not clear what you are referring to by "top bolt on lever guide" and "stop". Any chance you could post a pic? It may be working as designed.